Hello! My name is Julie

I currently live in IL. I work in healthcare, am 50 yrs old, and diagnosed with a slow progressing form of ALS(PLS) at 46. I’ve been a traveler my entire life. I’ve lived in several states across the US and have visited 4 of the 7 continents. I use a power chair 80% of the time and use a walker in my home and sometimes at work. I joined this group because I have 3 continents to go and I also travel some for work. As many have mentioned, accessible is defined differently and it’s frustrating to have to ask so many questions to ensure you are on the same page with the hotel, airline, or venue. I am looking forward to searching the various topics to gain insight on my next adventure. Best wishes to all!

4 Likes

Welcome! I too have just joined and have found the information in the forums very interesting/helpful.

2 Likes

Hi welcome to the site it sounds like you have some amazing travel experiences and will be a wonderful asset to the group

2 Likes

Hi Julie! Welcome, welcome! My name is Emily, and I am a forum moderator and manage our social media. We are excited that you have found us. :slight_smile: My mom is from Illinois!

We’re around for any questions, comments, concerns, anything at all. accessibleGO is a friendly place, where we’re all just trying to find the best info to travel to the best places. Traveling with a disability can be more complicated than our able-bodied peers, but that shouldn’t hold us back. I’m an ambulatory wheelchair user, using a power wheelchair as well!

What continents are you traveling to?

1 Like