High/Low Beds

Hello! This is my first time here and thank you for allowing me to post.
I am newly handicapped to wheelchair July 2, 2021. I now rely on my wheelchair at all times and must use a transfer board to get from chair to bed, etc. I am unable to stand, pivot, or walk, and I must have a Low/High bed in order to get in and out for resting, changing. Does anyone else use the high/low and are there places to stay that offer such a choice?
Thank you so much!!
Tracy

Hi there Tracy,
I too use a wheelchair full time and find that the bed transfers can be difficult especially in a different environment than home.
I hate to say it but there probably is not a hotel that offers a high/low bed but I would encourage you to not let that get in the way of traveling.
The way I look at it, the benefits of traveling and seeing the world far outweigh the temporary inconvenience that come along with trying to navigate in a not so accessible environment. Sometimes we have to make compromises to our independence by having a helper come along and assist in doing some of the things we need. Also if you are still getting physical therapy ask you therapist if you can learn an alternative transfer technique that you can use. If we use our imagination we can do a lot.
Good luck

3 Likes

My daughter is in The same situation. She is 42 and newly dependent on the wheel chair. I’m following your post.

I have found that the beds are often to high but if the room has a sofa or love seat I can transfer to that. A little cramped but it works for pressure relief

1 Like