Hoyer lifts

I am new to this my name is Mike I would love to go somewhere with my wife just a close getaway I can’t walk I do have my own chair and a van to get around. But we need a hoyer lift do hotels have these or get them ? Do they make a portable one ? Any suggestions would be appreciated God bless you all

1 Like

Mike, There are several folding hoyer lifts, some claim to be portable. Look on the web.

I too would be interested in learning more about a Hoyer lift to use at home and when traveling.

My husband, who uses a wheelchair recently went to myrtle beach on vacation. I googled durable medical equipment for that area. We rented a hoyer lift and beach wheelchair and they delivered it to us. It might take a couple of phone calls but be sure to let yhem know what you need and if they dont rent them, they can more than likely point you in the right direction.

Hi Michale, I’m Pinky; one of your Forum Moderator’s. Welcome to the Forum, we love having new members and love good questions like this. Just recently we has a post about this and I just wanted to repost for you my findings and didn’t want to just paste a link for you.

*(From 8/12/22)
"We can find companies with Hoyer lift rentals in most cities around the world for folks who are just in need of a temporary lift (daily, weekly, monthly). It is not typical at all for any hotel to have a lift in their own inventory, but most rental companies will deliver and pick-up to the hotel for you; and usually the hotel staff will make sure it gets up to your room for you. If it requires any tutorials, I always suggest making sure to arrange a delivery time when you are there so that you can get any help you need with trying to operate (in case its different from one you may use already). Usually you don’t need to be there for when they come back for it and most hotels are very good about holding any medical equipment to be picked up after you depart.