Insurance for Scooters

I am new to needing a scooter but now I really need one badly. I drive a Toyota RAV4 and I will need something so light that I can lift up easily or a lift. My real question is how do I go about buying a scooter? Will insurance cover anything? I have Medicare & Medicaid. Really appreciate all answers.

Medicare will pay for one but you need a prescription from your physician.
They will only pay for one assistive device in five years
That means anything from a cane to a scooter or wheelchair so be very wise in what you request.

I have a compact electric wheelchair. Total weight with the batteries is 58 pounds. I love it. Quick n Mobile. It is great. If you have balance and strength, not a weightlifter, it is very manageable.

Here’s the official medicare position: does medicare or medicaid cover the cost of scooters - Google Search

Hi! If you have Medicare & Medicaid and you would like them to pay for it, the first step would be to get a prescription from your doctor stating you need a medical device. From there you can begin to work with either an occupational therapist or a physical therapist to understand what device would be best for you. You want the prescription to be very specific to what you need or Medicare will try to get around providing you what you need.

I recently got a new chair through a private insurance company, and once I had the prescription, a consultation from an OT/PT, and a decision on exactly what chair I needed, we submitted it to insurance for approval. This process took a very long time unfortunately. I continuing called to get status updates and hope to push things through. Once insurance approved, we were able to order the chair. Then it took ~2 months to receive the chair.

Its a long process - took 10 months from start to finish for me - but definitely worth it to not have to pay out of pocket for a custom power wheelchair. Let me know of any further Qs!

1 Like