Wheel Chairs Onboard Aircraft

Some airline personnel have contacted me since I started my petition encouraging United Airlines to become accessible, saying “it’s not possible to have wheelchair spaces on aircraft.
As this article (and many more) shows - airlines can but won’t - Welcome on board | CIEHF
Aircraft these days have cabins complete with showers, sleeping pods etc but airlines say they can’t have wheelchair accessibility! That makes no sense.
United Airlines have the perfect opportunity next month to choose accessible features for their upcoming replacement aircraft. Please encourage them to do so :Petition · Accessible Air Travel For All · Change.org

I agree with the airlines. As an engineer, I foresee too many problems allowing someone to drive their chair onto an aircraft. It’s not the same as a bus or van. There are other ways to deal with the issues. If you have to have this privilege, call the Airforce and tell you need a ride on a Globemaster to your destination.

It all comes down to money… of course the airlines have no problem making space for individual suites in the front of the plane for first class travelers because they can charge a bazillion dollars for each one on a trip and make money. If they have to sacrifice floor space in the middle to rear of the plane to make wheelchair securement areas they lose money because they have sacrifice a minimum of three seat spaces for each wheelchair spot they create and they will not be allowed to charge three times the fare rate for that class of seat to make it break even. Just like wheelchair seating in arenas and movie theaters, they need to sacrifice seat space for the wheelchair areas ( if they do it right).